New Zealand And Israel

I tend to agree with Fran O’Sullivan’s article today in the NZ Herald on the Government’s restraint in comment on what Israel is up to in Gaza.  I am all for a more balanced approach in relations between New Zealand and Israel (which went too far the other way under Labour), but I do feel that we do need to be a bit more forthright in our comment on the current situation.  I put the current restraint in comment more down to the Government being new and the machinery of Government still being away on holiday, but once things start getting back up and running next week I hope some stronger statements are made.

I also hope that Isreal ceases hostilities immediately.  Aside from a humanitarian, and international law concern, I am keen to see some work done on building a better relationship between New Zealand and Israel.  In particular I want New Zealand to learn from Isreal’s venture capital culture and its business incubation programmes.  I also want more trade and investment with Israel.  Unfortunately the current offensive against Gaza will make this more difficult.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

