Brief Comments

Sorry about the lack of posts, but I have been either out of contact or busy.

I was surprised by the size of the OCR cut.  I was picking no more than 100 points.

The continuing trade deficit concerns me.  We need to continue our focus on trade liberalisation and on improving our export performance.

There is a general strike on in France today.  I am not sure how this is going to advance the cause of those suffering from the financial crisis, but it is certainly inconveniencing many people.

I have yet to hear anything from the speakers at Davos that fills me with encouragement about the global financial future.  Pretty much all the sessions are watcheable on the web on the World Economic Forum website.

One Response to “Brief Comments”

  1. LaFemme Says:

    My husband and I have been watching CNBC’s Davos coverage of an evening — there doesn’t appear to be many smiling faces for the camera. We also saw the Italian finance minister walk coldly off from a CNBC European reporter when asked about his country’s finances. Amusing.
    In the view of reporters and others there in Davos, did Tayyip Erdogan have a point in feeling dissed?

Leave a Reply

